Autism awareness

Autism Awareness Month – Expressions

Last night Logan bit Bella, this is really unusual as he adores her. Any attention he can get off her he soaks up like a sponge. The problem is that he doesn’t tend to read her very well and will keep on trying to play even when she is dead set against it. He is used to her lashing out at him and sometimes he welcomes her hitting him and will let her do it as she can find it funny. In these situations it’s really hard as they are both playing cooperatively however they’re using violence so I can’t let it carry on. Not reading signals is something I’m used to with Bella, she once got really annoyed at age two when I fell down the stairs holding a then baby Logan and didn’t immediately follow her into the lounge to put the TV on. Thankfully I was just winded (though I thought I was dying and Logan was unscathed) but she stood over me prodding me with the TV remote, bless!

I wasn’t in the room last night but came in to Bella’s cries of “Scary Witch” which is the new thing she cries when anything isn’t going her way. I think it’s from Toy Story 3 but you never can really tell with her. Both kids were sitting on the top bunk, Logan’s bed with ashen faces, Bella repeating “Scary Witch” over and over.

scary witch
Ahh Scary Witch!

I knew Logan had done something wrong but it’s difficult discovering the truth when the only one who can properly talk to you is the one in the wrong.

“Tell me what happened Logan.”

“I don’t want to…” Not a great reaction and this went on for a while.

“Come on Logan, tell me what happened. I promise I won’t be angry.” This may have been a very, very hollow promise but Logan is extremely sensitive and will tell me how sad I make him if I raise my voice even a fraction…this happens quite frequently.

“I bit Bella.” His face was so sad I really struggled not to comfort him rather than his sister who was still scary witching him.  It appears from his story that she kicked him and he got angry and so bit her, I hasten to add that it was a bloody painful looking bite too. I think he may have been holding in that resentment for some time.

I brought Bella down and comforted her to the point when she pushes me away (she has a very clear way of letting me know she’s had enough which usually involves hitting me or just pushing my face away, she’s such a doll!) I then comforted Logan too as by this point he was sobbing saying “Sorry Bella, sorry Bella.” I really couldn’t think of what to do other than give him a cuddle. He clearly knew that what he had done was wrong so further punishment would’ve seemed plain cruel.

Being brother and sister can be hard enough but one doesn’t really interact and the other is desperate for attention of any kind it can be a real juggling act. There will be more clashes in the future I’m sure but I’m seeing Bella choose to react, acknowledge and oblige Logan’s playful advances more and more and it’s really lovely…it may not last long and often ends badly but the moments in between are just magic!

Expressions

April 1st

April 2nd – Safety


Watching – So much Gotham…so much blood, I may need to watch some In The Night Garden to get over it!

 

13 thoughts on “Autism Awareness Month – Expressions

  1. Siblings either play lovely together or dislike each other same in our home thanks for linking to the #binkylinky

  2. Oh bless him, it does sound like he understood he had done wrong. I get like that sometimes, just earlier we were going to pop out to the park and our littlest lady got in a right upset strop about something so we turned around and said we weren’t going to go. She was so distraught that even though she was the one who had done wrong, I wanted to comfort her. We are either the best of friends or arguing in this sibling household too!

  3. Ahhh Yes the fighting I am going through the fightig each other stage with the 2 year old and 9 years old i am told it gets better I cant wait until it does #picknmix

  4. Siblings are hard at the best of times, but they are also such a blessing to each other and hopefully will be a huge support through all their years.

  5. It’s good news that he was remorseful and sad about what he had done. He was no doubt pushed to his limits, which doesn’t make it right of course, but it is understandable. I remember being so sad years ago when my eldest said she wanted to put her sister in the rubbish bin – but life with her sister is difficult and I kind of got that. Siblings need extra understanding xx

  6. Oh bless them both, I love watching the boys interact, but it is quite rare. Thank you so much for linking up to #KCACOLS Hope you come back again next Sunday

  7. That’s a really difficult one for you all, one hurting and one not understanding why. Sounds as though it all came together in the end because you knew how to deal with it. #kcacols

  8. Its tough for siblings as it is never mind with anything else thrown it. It’s so hard to not comfort them when they are upset when they have done something wrong, seeing them sad is heartbreaking no matter what. Thanks for linking to #PicknMix

  9. Oh goodness me what tricky situation. It’s funny how sometimes siblings can be so sweet and loving to each other, and then in the next moment there is fighting and tears. Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday”

  10. Wow what a difficult one. I’m starting now to see some of these siblings fights. My little one will be 20 months next week so you wouldn’t think of her doing anything bad comparing with her bigger sister that is almost 6 years old. Every time that I hear the little one crying I immediately think that the big sister has done something wrong but lately I have been observing them closely and realised that the little one is not that innocent as she might look but actually rather rough instead! I have seen her kicking, slapping or pulling hairs of her big sister!! It is just crazy!! So now I have to seat down with the little terror and try to explain her that what she has done is bad. It is so hard to teach your kids good behaviour. I hope she gets it soon!! Thanks so much for sharing this at #KCACOLS. I would love to see you again on Sunday! 🙂 x

  11. I read and commented as part of the #KCACOLS linky, but just wanted to head over from #spectrumsunday and say thank you for joining me this week, really hope you link up again this week xx

Leave a Reply

