Autism awareness

Autism Awareness – Safety

My biggest concern for Bella on a day-to-day basis is her safety. If a door is open she will run through it and she runs really fast.

She runs like a gazelle with the understanding of a toddler. She more often than not looks back when she runs laughing and mistaking my calls and attempts to run her down as a game. Because of this it’s essential she uses a special needs buggy suitable for a very tall 5 year old. Her school does a lot of work on her walking and have successfully got her to walk to the local shop/church with the help of two teaching assistants. Familiar paths are fine, walking from our house down the path to her school transport she is fantastic, change route slightly and she’s off, sprinting.

The other alternative is that she drops to the ground and lies down in the street. Have you ever tried picking someone up who is playing dead? Try it with a toddler and shopping bags and you’ll see why it can’t happen. Factor in as well that in complete contrast Logan is a hand holder, he will let go at times where he knows he is safe but for the most part he wants to feel safe and follow the “rules.” This alone while pushing a buggy is difficult and I’ve had to get rid of several SN buggies because of their lack of one-handed steering.

I’ve never had any direct comments from adults as to why she’s in a pushchair but I think the fact that her younger brother is usually there and walking must either confuse them of convince them I’m not pandering because don’t forget Bella doesn’t “look disabled”  crazy maybe but not disabled.

Not entirely sure what is happening here!
Not entirely sure what is happening here!

I have had the looks though!

I’ve had several children ask me before why she uses it or why she doesn’t talk to them and I’ve always tried to answer as honestly and simply as I can. I love how direct kids are it’s very refreshing even if questions like “why does she wear a nappy?” are awkward.

Once I was told off by an old lady when I came out of a disabled toilet with my children as they are only for “invalids” like her husband. I can tell you one thing, neither of my children are that but how about people mind their own business.

Yes – she can walk and we use a buggy

Yes – she can walk and we have  Blue Badge for the car

It’s a matter of safety, that’s all. The sooner she doesn’t need the buggy the better for me as it really is a pain, it doesn’t make life easier for anyone (apart from Bella as she quite likes her little haven.)

HAPPY WORLD AUTISM DAY EVERYONE

Buggy

If you like this blog and fancy nominating me for a BAPS award I’ll love you forever  http://www.myfamilyourneeds.co.uk/baps/ 

April 2nd – Safety



Watching – Gotham, DC’s Legend’s of Tomorrow and The Big Bang Theory (good tv night!)

Feeling – Tired but ready to spread awareness like glitter today!!

6 thoughts on “Autism Awareness – Safety

  1. Ah, am thinking I should stay away from the disabled toilet debate… but in a nutshell you are perfectly entitled to use it! Safety comes first; I’m not sure other parents really understand what it’s like to have a ‘runner’ if they’ve never experienced it. My girl generally goes for the ‘sack of spuds’ effect which is of course more challenging the older she gets… fun and games we all have, not!

    1. Ooooh yes I know that one too, she probably does it about 20 time a day around the house! We got locked in a changing places recently when the cleaner parked their trolley outside the door and we got refused entry to one once a we didn’t have a radar key or PROOF of disability!!

  2. Invisible disabilities always present extra problems, it doesn’t seem fair. I never assume anything about anyone. Even now that I’m wheelchair bound and I have to wait while ‘normal looking’ people use the disabled toilets I don’t ever judge, because you just don’t know. particularly with toilet issues.

    1. To be honest disabled loo’s aren’t much use to my daughter as she wears a nappy but if we’re out and I need the toilet or my son I have to use them as I can’t leave her outside on her own. I’m glad some people are open minded though x

Leave a Reply

