Autism awareness

April 1st

It’s Autism Awareness/Acceptance/Understanding month so be aware that you’re about to get smacked in the face with a shed load of facts, memes and rainbow colours! I always feel that I want to educate as there is still a lot of fear surrounding Autism and special needs in general so I think the more people know, the less scary and alien it seems.

One of the things that Bella does in public which attracts attention is flapping. She flaps her hands with such ferocity that I often think she may just lift off the ground. She does it when she’s excited, it can be that she’s watching something which particularly delights her, a spinning wheel, scrolling words or light moving in a particular way. Just like when a kettle boils and steam pours out of the spout it’s like her excitement builds up then billows out through her arms.

A very flappy Mouse
A very flappy Bella

At 5 I find it pretty inoffensive however as she gets older it may seem more of an issue to the general public (like it has anything to do with them!) When she flaps I’ll admit it is usually accompanied by squeaks and high pitched squeals but I think it’s definitely the arms that attract attention.

Her flapping is just showing excitement, happiness and occasionally distress.

Adults:It’s not something which warrants staring at, pointed fingers or worst of all piss taking. By all means join in with her, she loves it when you copy her stims but do it as a friend not a bully. Do it to engage not belittle.

Children: It’s ok to ask questions, don’t be put off by your parents. I don’t always know why she does things but I’ll certainly take an educated guess. Join in if you like, jump and flap and sing it’s all good but be her friend whatever that means. Just don’t be mean to her or anyone else really.

flapping
Flapping, stimming is just a normal part of self regulation for those on the Autism Spectrum.

 

 

Watching: Gotham season 2 (still a bit gory for me haha!)

Feeling: Good, ready for Autism Awareness Month. Wish we could get our new offices sorted asap as working from home is a bloody nightmare especially in the holidays with the kids! Hopefully something will be sorted soon!

Pick N Mix FridaysBinky Linky

13 thoughts on “April 1st

  1. As a fellow mummy to an autistic child I am not quite sure where I stand on this autism awareness month business. It sometimes feels a bit like we are just rolling out the next disability – what will it be next month. Sorry, I am usually amazingly positive and I do want to raise awareness but more than that I want to raise acceptance so this post is (in my opinion) just what we should be doing telling people what they can do. Fabulous post so glad I read this today!

    1. Omg this is my thoughts exactly! People posting pictures saying AUTISM AWARENESS and that’s it? We need to explain the behaviours that people don’t understand, surely it’s quite a simple idea! Thanks for the comment x

      1. I agree wholeheartedly…helping others understand our Autistic children, their needs and behaviors, is the best use of the month of April. I love that you used the word “delight” in describing why your daughter flaps. My son flaps in many situations, but when he is flapping in pure delight, I think…well, maybe the world could use more flapping. I wrote about this recently in “Stimming at the Beach”…would appreciate your thoughts. http://swissarmyprincess.com/2016/03/27/stimming-at-the-beach/

  2. Love this post. My autistic girl doesn’t flap at all so I think it’s good to be giving people an idea of how different they can all be – how different we all can be! Love that you are open to questions too – me too! Can’t expect everyone to know everything 🙂

    1. Thanks for reading! My son doesn’t flap at all except when mimicking his sister. It seems weird that they both have the same diagnosis but have barely any similarity in terms of traits x

  3. Thank you for sharing. I always learn so much from posts like this. We’ve got friends with autistic children and I’ve never come across flapping before

    1. I think it’s more common in the lower functioning children/adults as they’re less constrained by feeling the need t conform. Thanks for reading, I’m trying to post as many facts this month as I can x

  4. Such an interesting post as I have quite a lot of experience with autistic children however I know a lot of adults that don’t and aren’t sure how to ‘react’ when they meet an autistic child. A really important helpful post 🙂

    #binkylinky

  5. I have always taught my children that everyone is different, people behave in different ways and to always be kind to everyone. I’m proud to say that if they saw your little one ‘flapping’ they’d just smile at them in a nice way and probably ask them to play.

    Thanks for linking up to #PicknMix

    Stevie x

Leave a Reply

