Uncategorized

Mean boys

Logan was in a soft play centre today, I’m making the most of the little time he has left before it’s weekends only when he’s in full time school. Weekends only ha, like I ever take my kids to soft play at weekends!!Β 

So after running around for 15 minutes or so like a loon he latched onto a couple of boys, one younger and one older. I didn’t really take much notice at first, I could hear him roaring at them which is his usual play/interaction with peers (he’s 4…this is normal I’m told.) I was taking advantage of not having Bella with us meaning my helicopter blades could stay firmly in my bag as I didn’t have to hover over her the whole time. I kept spotting him running around with them laughing his head off and was glad, he struggles with shyness and anxiety so seeing him play like this was lovely. Until that is the older boy came to complain about him to his mum who was sitting close by. I didn’t hear what he was saying but there was a lot of finger pointing to a totally oblivious Logan who was obviously still in full Batman character waiting to play.

Logan continued to chase them around with not a trace of understanding that his presence was unwanted. They then spent the rest of the playtime trying to hide from him and my heart felt sad for his innocence. The older boy pushed toddlers out of his wake trying to escape my son, in all honesty I’ve never wanted to punch a child before yet this one could have easily got a jab as he ran past. Don’t worry he didn’t, put the phone to social services down please.

53a05f8da3f21_-_meangirls_xl-h2kcyb
Original. Film Title: Mean Girls

B can be rambunctious and doesn’t tend to let things drop so they probably got bored with him, he’s a four year old in a 6 year old’s body who probably acts more like a 3 year old. Logan had fun, bags of it but this “Mean Boy” behaviour unsettled me, I thought it was only girls who acted like this, most of the boys at nursery would just say “Go away” and that’s it done with. This behaviour takes much more sophisticated thinking than he is capable of right now.

Ah well just another worry for his future time at school eh!

I just have to remind myself that he had a blast, screw them! Not mature but hey ho I’m a mother not Mother Teresa.


Watching – Damages series 5, I will watch other shows soon

 

MummascribblesKeep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday

23 thoughts on “Mean boys

  1. I totally get this post! I have an almost 5 year old son and I’m always nervous when he’s playing with the older kids. I’m worried that he’s bugging them or that they aren’t being nice to him. Sometimes it ends in tears but usually he can hold his own. #KCACOLS

    1. Thanks for reading, I’d never really considered there would be older kids in a soft play centre on a Monday morning. I think it’s times like this that his mild autism shows as even after I told him they didn’t want to play anymore he couldn’t understand and just ran off after them…oh well I tried πŸ™‚

  2. I hate soft play it seems to bring out the worst in everyone! As you say he enjoyed himself but I probably would of wanted to give him a sly dig too, and yes girls are worse than boys for that too! #KCACOLS

  3. Great post on a touchy subject and well written. I can feel your pain as my little girl (only 2) can also be quite full on with other children, and just enjoys being around older children so much but they don’t always love her! Fantastic word rambunctious. Thanks for sharing and your totally right, as long as you guys had fun that’s all that matters #Twinklytuesday

  4. I know this feeling sooo well – I think it hurts us more than them but makes me really sad when other kids are mean to my munchkins! Don’t worry, you’re not the only one who *may* have had thoughts of accidentally strangling said children!!! πŸ˜‰ #TwinklyTuesday

  5. Awww. That’s horrible….I’m sure it’s actually quite common with a lot of children. Growing up can be hard, my mummy isn’t looking forward to me going to school either.. #TwinklTuesday #LetKidsBeKids

  6. I’ve never really had that problem with my boys. They have always collected playmates like dogs collect fleas. However, my closest friends son gets teased, bullied, picked on, and left out all of the time at school. Because I have gotten to see first hand how hard this “mean boy” behavior is on him I really work on teaching compassion and inclusion to my boys. I think the older boys mom really missed an opportunity to teach her son to be a better person when he went to her and complained about your son. I remind my son’s all the time that how they treat other people defines who they are. A few moments of playing with your son wouldn’t have hurt that little boy at all and I’m sure if he had stopped being such a little jerk he probably would have even had fun playing with ‘batman’. #twinklytuesday

  7. Oh no, my little one is only 19 months and this is definitely not something I am looking forward to! Soft play is such a minefield. #SSAmazingAchievements

  8. This is horrible and I really feel for you. We all want our children to grow up being liked being their friends and people they newly meet. I don’t blame you for wanting to punch someone, I would feel the same. Claire x #KCACOLS

  9. It’s hard watching our kids be “rejected”. But as long he’s not aware, then more fool them. Maybe he was quite simply rejecting their rejection!
    Thanks so much for joining the Lovin’ Life Linky last week. So great to have you there. The next one goes live at 8.30am AEST this morning. Hope to see you there!
    Happy Easter! πŸ™‚

  10. Oh gosh, soft play. It can be an absolute recipe for mean-spirited behaviour can’t it.
    Like your boy, D never notices if other children are deliberately freezing her out, unfortunately I do.
    Thanks for linking up with #SSAmazingAchievements

    1. For him to be upset he has to have someone sit in his chair or take his toy (even if neither of these are actually his lol.) M is oblivious of everything, I braved it with both of them this week and I have to hover round her as she tries to walk through children rather than round them #facepalm

  11. I’m sure boys can be mean too, It is not just the girls. My eldest daughter is 5 years old and she is always complaining about the boys. Apparently she wants to play football with the boys but they don’t want a girl involved. Isn’t it horrible that the sports are sometimes divided by gender? So it is more common that all the boys play football and the girls gymnastics for example. It must have been heart breaking to see your son in that situation. I’m glad that he actually had a great time despite all. Thanks so much for sharing this at #KCACOLS. It is great to have you here for the first time. I hope that you like it. Don’t forget to check the rules about commenting, πŸ˜‰ The linky will open again on Sat 2nd April, it would be lovely if you can join us again! πŸ™‚ xx

    1. That’s terrible, my sister is a county footballer so boys should think on! I did keep trying to comment on your post about zookeeper zoe but the post wouldn’t post no idea why. I think that book sounds great and I’m definitely going to try and get hold of one!

  12. That is sad. Kids can be cruel, whatever their gender. I have a very outgoing 2 nearly 3 year old, who tends to get ignored quite a bit by older kids she tries to play with. But she is young enough that she does not see it as rejection and just moves on, but it would break my heart if it happened & upset her. #KCACOLS

Leave a Reply

