Uncategorized

Toddler vs sensory needs

So the little man is approaching 3 and over the last few months I’ve lost 2 lip glosses, 2 lipsticks, 1 mascara, a bottle of conditioner and 2 bananas to this monster. Some of his behaviour stems from classic copying Mummy but it only occurred to me recently that he could be fulfilling a sensory need.

If his sister were to slather these products over her face and body everyone would instantly be declaring it a “sensory” need. However as her brother has no diagnosis and seems to everyone the picture of a typical developing toddler it is deemed as naughty (generally by me.)

As he is awaiting an appointment at the Child Development Centre I feel maybe I should give him the benefit of the doubt sometimes. Believe me he can be VERY naughty, so stubborn and just the epitome of terrible two’s but then it might be something else.

IMG_1920.JPG

IMG_1913.JPG

IMG_1919.JPG

IMG_1915.JPG

This has led to many bathtime messy play activities to try and distract him away from my makeup bag! 

Whether it’s working we have yet to see but it’s some “outside of the box” thinking which I always like! 

Leave a Reply

