Uncategorized

Not even a pinch of SaLT

So the little man was seen by a paediatrician last week regarding the slide in his progress.  At now 22 months I am still waiting for the gift of speech which seems illusive to both of my children.

As suspected the paediatrician was resistant to the idea of early referral to the CDC (Child Development Centre) stating that other than his lack of speech his progress is still in the ‘normal’ category.  The fact that he has a sister with autism and the fact that there is quite a hefty link between genetics and autism didn’t seem to interest him.
image

Instead he has referred him to the Speech and Language Therapy department.  I’ll admit I sighed audibly at the suggestion leading to me having to explain how they’ve refused to see my daughter on countless occasions as ‘she isn’t communicating yet.’ Neither is my son! The paediatrician said point blank ‘oh no they won’t see her because she has autism.’ Well, well, well this is the first time anyone has actually verbalised what I’ve known for over a year. It seems they’re not only under staffed but also under trained in autism which is a growing problem.  The fact that special schools offer SaLT as a matter of course to uncommunicative children everyday makes me even more angry at the lack of support we receive.

My health visitor (who has been amazing with both of my children) isn’t taking his decision lying down and is contacting him directly today to question his decision. His reasoning that the CDC will say he’s too young to clearly assess and should wait until he’s nearer two and a half holds water. Until of course you consider that there is generally around a three month wait and when you take Christmas into account we’d be looking at January/February and therefore we will be seeing him approach that age either way.

Our appointment ended with him saying he’ll see us in six months, probably before we see a speech therapist. 

This is what they call early intervention!

3 thoughts on “Not even a pinch of SaLT

  1. I would say I’m surprised but unfortunately I’m not. It turns out that being a clued-up parent is as bad as being one without a scooby – unless you develop the tenacity of a bloodhound on the trail, which will be hard with 2 small demanding children – that six months might be the best you get. I hope not though, I am hoping the HV comes through for you.

    1. Me too hon. Its difficult because unlike at the same age with B I was worried, things werent right. With L there just seems a delay but only with his communication. Im hoping starting nursery in Jan will help x

  2. So frustrating. When my son was 2 we started investigating. Went through major surgery for hearing. A year of faffing about and a lot of “we’ll see in 5 months” now 4 and can’t cope in reception and he gets referred for statement and diagnosis. Early intervention wasted!

Leave a Reply

