Uncategorized

How I fooled my kids today

I’m a fan of telling children whatever you need to get them to eat healthily and explain it to them later.  My girls food sensitivities mean that ALL veggies are a no go. Don’t get me wrong I always put a few on her plate and while her brother is eating/flicking/shoving peas up his nose, she manages to tactically avoid them.  I’ve even shoved them inside chips (yes I have that much time on my hands) but she’s simply spits them out whole and continues eating the chip. Typical.

I’m also a fan of hiding veggies and fruit in cakes and sauces etc:

Today I made:

975777_10151528383317746_1519268897_n

I used a mix of melted white and milk cooking chocolate, unsweetened wheat hoops or rice crispies would work, some chopped up dried apricots and my secret ingredient (you were waiting very patiently!)

983293_10151528370067746_1089490437_n

Lindwoods Flaxseeds, Cocoa, Strawberries and Blueberries

A daily 30g serving provides:

Contains Flavanols; highly effective antioxidants
Good source of Iron and Zinc
5.8g of Omega 3 per serving
Low Glycemic Index (GI)
7.6g of Dietary Fibre per serving
30g serving = 2 heaped dessert spoonfuls
*RDA = Recommended Daily Allowance

Ingredients:86% Flaxseed
10% Reduced Fat Cocoa
Dried Strawberries & Blueberries
The level of berries provided in each 30g serviing are derived from c15g of fresh fruit

Sounds good to me! Mix it all in a bowl, scoop it into cupcake cases, sprinkle with hundreds and thousands and chill.

And yes the children did adore them and yes they did need a bath afterwards and no this is not a sponsored post, just a product of all the hours I spend in health food shops.

3 thoughts on “How I fooled my kids today

  1. sounds super, but one word of warning flaxseed, which is soluble fibre can cause diarrhoea, or if do not drink enough water constipation; having said that it is extremely good for you and i enjoy it in muffins and on cereal; not only great for kids but also helps regulate hormones in adults xx

Leave a Reply

