Uncategorized

A witchy feast

We don’t really do Halloween, neither of my two have any idea what’s going on. Today I thought sod it, it’s an excuse for me to cook up something crazy and have a fun dinner. I’d bought my daughter a little costume on the off chance we did something (it cost £1 so I wasn’t very convinced!) left over polystyrene was used to make a couple of spooky decorations and a binbag made an authentic witches tablecloth lol.

20121031-194830.jpg

Well my creative (aka scary) side definitely raised its head! Worms with cut up fingers
Baked snake in blood sauce
Dead flies
Bloody garlic soldiers
and to finish a roast ghost.

I must admit that all this was done in a hour so could have looked a lot better if I’d actually thought in advance. Also trying to cook a (meringue) ghost in that time is not ambitious but a bit foolish. It tasted good but lacked the crunchy exterior because of the rush but a desert was needed and was still enjoyed. I’ll redo the ghost method soon and post a separate entry for it.

Baked snake is really a big meatball.

Small packet of mince, I use turkey as its nice and lean

1 shallot

1 small carrot

1 clove of garlic

1 slice of Wholemeal bread

Passata

And blend all together in a food processor, or chop everything nice and finely and mush together by hand. Put snakey together in sections by rolling lumps out by hand and sticking it onto the next bit. Bake in the oven at a medium heat for about 15 minutes then carefully pour in the passata into the gaps and cook for another 5-10 minutes.

 

20121031-194840.jpg

Chopped up fingers and worms are mini chipolta sausages with a touch of red food dye ar one end served with noodles fried in cream cheese and herbs

Leave a Reply

