Uncategorized

My Letter to The Times

If the Netmums community can create a scandal about their children’s TV programs then I feel almost obliged to do the same.  Not that I would ever suggest that the moms in question used their forum powers for evil rather than good, however if a certain mom should take a dislike to a program…say…Peppa Pig then it’s likely that an amount of resentment may grow after the 50th repeat.  All of a sudden that cute little pig and her younger brother become the focus of all the pent-up anger of the stressed out, stay at home mom.

What looked like playfulness before now looks like something much darker, “so that’s why my daughter jumps in puddles.” “I’m sure my little boy ate his vegetables before he started watching this program!” The doubt starts flickering through the parent’s brain until one day they take to the Netmums forum and discover other disillusioned moms who also despise that little pig, see what a bad influence this program is becoming. And so Peppa-gate was born, forums, newspapers and TV shows buzzed with the fact that many parents were deeply worried about the effects Peppa and George were having on their little angels.

Yet this isn’t the first kiddie program to get the Netmums stamp of disapproval.  Rastamouse, a crime fighting Rastafarian mouse has been deemed “racist” by one parent on the website while another worried that her white child might be seen as racist if they used the term Rasta. Maybe I am being naïve but I’m not aware of any mice that would be offended by this term.  I joke of course but surely this should be a reason to have a conversation with their children not just pretend it doesn’t exist.  Before Rastamouse there were the Tellytubbies who “obviously” encouraged homosexuality, (as if that’s even possible) as Tinky Winky paraded around with his oversized red Mulberry shopper.  The Magic Roundabout directly led to rise in rehab patients according to many parents who deemed it as “openly endorsing drug taking.”

Now I may be totally wrong here but I’m pretty sure my toddler has no idea what drugs are, that a purple alien carrying a handbag has effeminate undertones or that Rastafarians are not actually mice.  She often watches Mulan but has never expressed any idea to run off to war?

But anyway, this seems like the best way to stop my daughter watching anything that bugs me so here I go, I am swerving the forums and heading straight to the top…

My letter to The Times…

Dear Sir,

I regret to have to write this letter as the matter in question has become somewhat of an institution over the years in this country.  However with the shocking rise in levels of obesity and depression I think it is about time that the culprits were stopped before more children grow up affected with these debilitating conditions.  Winnie the Pooh has for too long now been stuffing his chubby little face with honey and I think it needs to stop. TV shows, films, books, clothes and everything else you can imagine are emblazed with this ambassador for over eating.  This isn’t even mentioning Eeyore who is obviously suffering from depression, Piglet who seems to have a fairly serious anxiety problem and Rabbit who just seems plain crazy at times.  This madness must stop, please before I have to listen to anymore of Sterling Holloways voice (which didn’t annoy me so much in The Jungle Book or Alice in Wonderland but now sounds like nails on a chalkboard.)  This is a very serious issue which needs highlighting urgently before my television gets thrown through a window….erm I mean before my children grow up to be obese and depressed.

Yours

Woman with baby


One thought on “My Letter to The Times

Leave a Reply

